Modified Painting Schedule

Painting Day 13

Between a busy week at work and various distractions, I had to revise my main goal. By Tuesday (Day 9) I hadn’t accomplished as much as I had hoped, so I decided to concentrate my attention on the 8 figures I intend to use in the Hell Dorado games day this coming Sunday.

Last night I resorted to a simple basing system–a bit of glue and some sand to create a rocky ground around the figure. And today I applied some drybrushing to some figures and hit the rocky bases with a bit of brown wash. I also spent time applying metal washers to the underside of the bases so they can “stick” to the magnetic sheet I’ve put down in a plastic container to use for transport to the game store. Some of these figures are delicate, particularly the wizard holding a scroll with a dragon-snake coiled around his body, so putting these into a box of foam wasn’t something I wanted to resort to using.

Meanwhile, I’ve been listening to an audiobook of The Golden Compass while working on these figures today.

2 thoughts on “Modified Painting Schedule

  1. I think the idea of washers on the pieces so they would stick to a magnetic sheet rather than try to soft pack them for travel is quite clever..

  2. I can’t take credit for this idea–my friend Shades actually suggested it, and now that I put it into practice by taking my figures to the game store and back home on Sunday I find it works quite well to keep them from bouncing around. Of course, if I drop the container or pack them in luggage for a flight they won’t stay put for long, but this is just for basic transportation.

Leave a Reply

